Staring contest…

One of my children is particularly gifted in the staring department. He always beats everyone else at staring contests. His eyeballs don’t need moisture apparently and he can out-stare a statue. Staring contests are fast becoming a favorite past time for the boys after our evening meal, when they need a dose of competitive fervour to end the day. I lose every time so it makes for good sport on their part. I consider my frequent humiliations a self-esteem building exercise for them. See what a good mother I am!

It was while I was wiping the tears away from my dried out eyes and praising my champion son’s efforts at eyeballing me sans blinking, that I noticed my smallest boy sitting next to the fish tank, his little face propped on his hands as he stared in at the fish. The angelic pose, the golden ringlets falling around his face and the soft glow of the fish tank lights made it a moment to freeze in time. Every mother wonders what her precious little one is thinking when his expression looks this intense, his concentration so total that he lost touch with the world. I had to find out what was going on in that little head of his. Was he sad about losing his bout with the other boy? Was he thinking about the meaning of life? There was only one way to find out…

me: “Sweetheart. What are you thinking about?”

Angel: “I’m playing wis de fish.”

me: “What are you playing?”

Angel: “We’re having staring contest!”

I didn’t have the heart to tell him that fish have no eyelids. I may just have found a way to keep him out from under my feet in the kitchen….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Jordan
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 10:01:55

    Dear little Gabriel, he is sooooo cute! Cherish these blogs, they will make for wonderful memories as they grow older. Two blogs in one day – I AM impressed!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

