Warm bodies….

In an apocalyptic world where a few small enclaves of humans eke out an existence in walled cities where the plague that has infected the rest of humanity can be kept more-or-less at bay, an antihero saves a girl from certain death and falls in love. And so begins a post-modern love story that defies logic and pushes the boundaries of literary heroes to places as yet unvisited.

I am loving this book! The author, Isaac Marion, uses his unlikely hero “R”  to ask some of the big philosophical questions of life: Can people really change? What is hope and is it enough to pull us into our future? What is the nature of revolution? Why bother to save a planet that seems doomed to destruction? What’s the point of war? Why do humans continue to reproduce when there will be nothing but suffering for our children to inherit?

The thing that astounds me is that, while asking these questions, Marion manages to maintain a story that oozes hope, that hints at the buoyancy of the human spirit even in the face of dehumanising circumstances. The relationship that develops between “R”  and Julie (a subtle allusion to Romeo and Juliette) is sweet and unexpected and I can’t wait to find out how it all ends. Will this unlikely couple end up in a grave at the end of the world as their namesakes before them, or will they see the blaze of the revolution that they themselves have sparked?

And did I mention that “R” is a zombie?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ross
    May 24, 2011 @ 19:21:56

    ** SPOILER ALERT **

    They all die in the beginning…

    If all the books you recommend are half as good as this one, I think I’ll have to start treating you as my book guru.

    I’m about a third of the way in, and already this is easily the best book I’ve read all year.

    I have “The Eyre Affair” to follow this up, so let’s see if you can go two for two! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • ariannecoad
      May 24, 2011 @ 21:07:51

      I’m glad you like! I really enjoyed this book. I think you’re most likely going to go nuts about the Fforde books. The second is better than the Eyre Affair so if you enjoy the first, you’ll love the second! With your off-the-wall humour you’re bound to appreciate how brilliant this man is! Let me know how you go….

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kenny
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:14:20

    Haha, I love the fact that you neglect to share about R until the very last sentence! I’m adding this to my reading list, by the way. 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

